Reflection time

Also known as time limit, it represents the amount of time each player has to finish the game. If one of the players uses it entirely before finishing the game, once it runs out it loses the game. It is measured by a special dual mechanical or digital clock.

A few commonly used reflection times:
- 1 min for each player: bullet chess
- 5 min for each player: blitz chess
- 20 min for each player: internet chess
- 30 min for each player: junior chess
- 90 min for each player + 30 sec increment per move : FIDE rated chess
- 1 or more days per move: correspondence chess
- 6 days per move: ICCF rated chess